The Commissioner meets with Prime Minister Steven Harper


Commissioner's Award Nomination button 

Contact the Commissioner
Fax: 867.393.6201

412 Main Street
Whitehorse, YT Y1A 2B7


Dr. Arthur MacDonald Pearson

Term in Office: 1976 (July 1) – 1978 (October 31)
Preceded by: James Smith 
Succeeded by: Frank B. Fingland

Born: February 20, 1938, Brandon, Manitoba


 • He was a biologist with the Canadian Wildlife Service from 1968 to 1971, researching the activities of grizzly bears, caribou and other animals. Pearson lived in Whitehorse.
• He resigned as Commissioner in 1978 after pleading guilty to charges related to improper mining claim transfers.