The Commissioner meets with Prime Minister Steven Harper


Commissioner's Award Nomination button 

Contact the Commissioner
Fax: 867.393.6201

412 Main Street
Whitehorse, YT Y1A 2B7


Ione Jean Christensen

Image of Commissioner Christensen

Term of Office: 1979 (January 20) - 1979 (October 9)

Preceded by: Arthur MacDonald Pearson

Succeeded by: Douglas Bell


Born: 1933 (October 10), Dawson Creek, British Columbia


 • Ione Christensen is the first woman to be appointed as Commissioner of Yukon.
• Her family moved to Whitehorse in 1949. Christensen graduated from high school in 1953.
• In 1971, she was appointed the first woman Justice of the Peace and Judge of the Juvenile Court in Yukon.
• She was elected the first woman Mayor of Whitehorse in 1975.
• She was appointed a Member of the Order of Canada in 1994.
• Christensen was appointed to the Canadian Senate in 1999. She resigned from the Senate to assist her ailing husband in 2006.