The Commissioner meets with Prime Minister Steven Harper


Commissioner's Award Nomination button 

Contact the Commissioner
Fax: 867.393.6201

412 Main Street
Whitehorse, YT Y1A 2B7


John Kenneth McKinnon

Image of Kenneth McKinnon

Term in Office: 1986 (March 27) - 1995 (June 11)

Preceded by: Douglas Bell
Succeeded by: Judy Gingell

Born: 1936 (April 20), Saint Boniface, Manitoba


  • He is a Canadian politician and was Commissioner of the Yukon (1986-1995).
  • He was educated in Norwood, at St. Paul's College and at the University of Manitoba in political science.
  • He came to Yukon in 1956, fell in love with the Yukon’s beauty and decided to stay permanently.
  • He was vice-president and general manager of Northern Television Services.
  • McKinnon was a Member of the Yukon Territorial Council from 1961 to 1974 and was the youngest Councillor ever elected at that time.  This started his journey into politics.
  • McKinnon was then appointed Minister of Local Government in 1974.
  • He was minister of Highways and Public Works in 1976.
  • He was then Yukon Administrator of the Northern Pipeline Agency from 1979 to 1984
  • He was a member of the Task Force on Northern Conservation (1983-84)
  • He was appointed Commissioner March 27, 1986 then retired in June 1995.
  • McKinnon was chancellor of Yukon College from 2000 to 2004.
  • In 2008, he was named chair of the Yukon Environmental and Socio-Economic Assessment Board.
  • He was the last Commissioner to live in the Commissioners Residence in Whitehorse.